Most of the time.

Just watched Hotel Rwanda on sundance and I’m being so emotional right now. I was on the verge of tears 80% of the time and I was actually going all “oh noooo!” and whining at all the shooting and killing until the brother came. So I kind of had to suppress my noises and I ended up covering my cringing face with a pillow trying not to tear.

You’re dirt. We think you’re dirt, Paul … You’re black. You’re not even a nigger. You’re an African. They’re not going to stay, Paul. They’re not going to stop this slaughter.

I was just like “oh my gosh you did not just say that” ouch ouch even as I type this. 😥

And there was this part where Jack the white press guy had to leave and I think he had an African girlfriend or something, and the girl was begging him to help her and the only thing he could do was to stuff money to her … ouch. I remember hearing this line from one of the movies I watched that goes something like “love does have borders”, now this is one classic. When shit happens the invisible borders drawn by differences between human shine like all the stars in the universe gathered together and you simply can’t ignore it. Then there was this part after Paul insisted that when the footage of the massacre is shown to the world, the world will send help, Jack went:

 I think that when people turn on their TVs and see this footage, they’ll say, “Oh my God, that’s horrible,” and then they’ll go back to eating their dinners.

Saddest truth. So much shit is happening simultaneously all over this massive world, that countless people are dying every second. Others’ lives have to go on. How many people actually even think about making the effort to stop and feel for this people, let alone trying to do something about it?

Maybe the apocalypse could be for the better, but that’s after we try and fail.

Leave a Reply

