Yayo, yeah you.

This is frocris blogging from bed and the time right now is 2:43AM. I am currently in the process of freezing to my death so allow me to utter some last words.

Sometimes I sit down and think about the prospect of me turning into a dinosaur forever halfway through my life and I get really, really scared. I mean, if you can actually not think about it so much as a joke but really as a serious something to think about, it is really such a terrifying thing, for the person that turned into a dinosaur, and the other people that would have to handle this dinosaur.

I was at the S.E.A. Aquarium yesterday and as usual, I got all sad and emo. I don’t know why but whenever I visit some sort of museum or zoo or exhibition, and aquarium for this matter, or when I watch live shows, I get all emo up. I just started feeling really sad, at first, for the fishes because they were under captivity of some sort. Imagine being captured and, from living in the vast oceans, you are kept in a small glass box with manmade surrounding that obviously shouldn’t fool you! How sad would that be. But later I realised they probably have no emotions so they wouldn’t feel sad about being an item of exhibition or have people pointing and watching them like they are clowns. Then I felt kind of embarrassed for the humans, as a human, for being so … I don’t know the word. Anyway, I was just being all emotional about this whole human-animals relationship thing. I imagined being one of those fish, being all so exposed in a glass container, with a bunch of people observing your every move for most hours of the day. I felt so much for them but then what made me sadder was the realisation of the fact that all the emotions that I feel for them is one-sided, that it’s the human mind that plants these emotions upon them, that they probably don’t have feelings at all. Then I watched this video of cichlids in the Malawi Lake about mother cichlids hiding baby cichlids in their mouth to protect them from being eaten up by predators and I was affected beyond words. I can still remember how emotionless the mother cichlid looked (and probably really was), and it hurt quite a bit to think that in the animal world, it is unlike the human world where mothers do things for the children out of love – the animals do it out of preset instinct of some sort (or at least I think they do). My whole point is really that the lack of emotions in the animal world makes me really sad.

A fish I sort of felt a lot for. Look at the amount of shit it gives about me.

A fish I sort of felt a lot for. Look at the amount of shit it gives about me.

Stared at this bunch of stuff for the longest time.

Stared at this bunch of stuff for the longest time.

It'd be terribly romantic to sit in front of this when there's nobody else.

It’d be terribly romantic to sit in front of this when there’s nobody else.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

