Safe and sound.

Safe and Sound trended for quite a while on twitter, I believe. Almost as long as #replacebandnameswithboner did, if not longer. When I first saw it the first thing that came to my mind was Safe and Sound by Gerard Way and Kyosuke Himuro. You know, the ending song for Final Fantasy VII, I think.

Out of curiousity, I clicked on it to see what would come out. As usual, there were people that just threw it in a sentence and tweeted things like ‘Under my blanket, #safeandsound’. That’s how they contribute in the trending of song/album names anyway.

Anyway, so I figured out it’s Taylor Swift‘s new song for The Hunger Games! I was never really a fan of hers so I didn’t really give a shit until someone tweeted that she was near to tears after listening to it. It was 12am and I’m like wow so I went on YouTube and listened to it. Yeap, all these shit just to tell you that I went to listen to Taylor Swift’s new song.

Quite a sad song, I must say. When I first heard it I thought it was just another sad love song. Another good sad love song. But then I was quite curious about what she meant by ‘safe and sound’. So, I went to find out a bit about The Hunger Games.

Wikipedia, duhh.

After reading it, I just don’t really think it’s a song for Katniss and Peeta. It sounded more like it’s sung for Rue from Katniss’ point of view. I mean, I can totally picture Katniss singing this to Rue while spreading flowers all over her body.

I remember you said, Don’t leave me here alone
But all that’s dead and gone and passed tonight

You’ll be alright
No one can hurt you now

It’s just really … un-love-song-ly, to me.

Having the song on replay. It’s making me so sad.

P/S: So apparently someone told me that it is supposed to be a song for Katniss and Peeta. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

